Middle States Reaccreditation Process 2019

Every seven years, St. John’s College High School undergoes a reaccreditation process for the Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools. Our most recent reaccreditation cycle, which will conclude with an official visit from the Middle States Association in November 2019, has provided the St. John’s community with the opportunity to reflect on recent growth and identify areas for future improvement. Through surveys of the community, in-depth discussions and student and parent focus groups, we have distinguished four areas of focus:

  • Improved academic performance in the areas of English and math
  • Cross-disciplinary curriculum development
  • Improved safety, security and health measures
  • Professional development targeting adolescent development

St. John’s Middle States reaccreditation is led by Dr. Anna Garland, dean of academic services, and Selma Solera, math faculty.

Middle States Planning Committee

Anna Garland, Dean of Academic Services, Internal Coordinator
Selma Solera, Math Faculty, Internal Coordinator
Erik Carvajal ’21
Mel Colvin, Director of Technology
Michael Esten, Vice President for Institutional Advancement
Brian Griffin, Director of Athletics
Susan Hinton, Director of Admissions
Kristin Hosmer ’92, St. John’s Trustee
Cady Hyde ’20
Jody Jasinski P’16, P’19
Riley Langan ’22
Shannon O’Laughlin, Assistant Principal for Academic Affairs
Linda Majkrzak, Math Faculty
Rosemary Martin, Director of College Counseling
Mary McAndrews, Benilde Faculty
Brian McCarthy, Science Department Chair
Julie Mitchell, Director of Counseling
Daniel Pier, Foreign Language Faculty
Kirk Ruthenberg, St. John’s Trustee
Kennedy Sanders ’20
Tom Sipowicz, Director of Mission Integration
Christopher Themistos, Principal
Laura Turowski, Librarian
Mickey Williams P’19
Ava Zamora ’21