Honoring Academic Excellence

On Sept. 18, St. John’s honored students and teachers for their achievements during the 2021–2022 school year at the annual Academic Convocation.
Each September, St. John’s recognizes current sophomores, juniors, and seniors for their academic success during the previous school year. The evening began with the induction of 203 students into St. John’s Archbishop Hannan Chapter of the National Honor Society. Faculty members Kate Fernandez, CJ Gittens, Selma Solera, and Jason Smith each spoke about the society’s four pillars: leadership, scholarship, service, and character.
Next, St. John’s academic departments presented individual awards to outstanding students in each class, and 139 students were recognized with the San Miguel Febres Cordero Award for earning straight As last year.
Three educators were also recognized at this event. St. John’s faculty selected math teacher Paul DeStefano and English teacher Cristina Paluch as the recipients of the Gasser Award, which is presented annually to two teachers who serve as Christian role models for the students and who are committed to excellence in teaching. Fine arts teacher and department chair Tiffany Mills received the Distinguished Lasallian Educator Award, which is presented each year to a faculty member who embodies the Lasallian ideals.
Congratulations to this year’s honorees!